A Few Miles in the Sun

I’ve said in previous posts that many of my hikes are return visits to old familiar places. Sometimes it’s not about discovery it’s just about getting out. With that in mind, I got in a great hike today around the woods at North/South Lake

I started the hike from the beginning of the Kaaterskill Rail trail knowing I just wanted to get in some miles in the woods and this would let me pad my walk without too much thinking. The snow has all but cleared out at the 2,000’ level though some of the north facing peaks had snow hanging on at what appeared to be around 3,000’.  This area around the lake and rail trail lies at about 2,000’ feet so the only remaining snow was in deep shaded pockets. It was nice to walk on mostly dry ground.

When we last saw the old train depot it was covered in snow. Today it’s free of winters grasp and looking well.

IMG 2017

With much of the snow gone there was quite a bit of action in all the seasonal creeks and other waterways along the trail. The pictures won’t do it justice but if you spend any time in the woods you know how relaxing it is to spend a few minutes at these spots.

IMG 2020

IMG 2034

The lake was reflecting the bright sunlight and it seems it’s time to apply the sunscreen again for the next 8 months.

IMG 2036

Not much new ground covered today but I did come across one interesting spot I’ve seen before that I don’t recall getting photos of. As this area is now largely a state campground and day use area there are many campsites, picnic spots and other facilities. One spot has several fire pits that appear to have been left to the elements in the woods. Not clear why these would not be cleared and used as any time I’ve visited in season the place is full.

IMG 2028

In this second shot there are at least 3 abandoned fire pits if you look hard enough.

IMG 2030

7.5 miles hiked and a whopping 336 feet of elevation gained. Much fresh air and sun was had.

Screenshot 2023 04 09 at 18 11 53

Patrick McConnell @pmcconnell
🐘 Reply on Mastodon