Roguelike Tutorial | Fat Old Yeti

Playing around with this Roguelike Tutorial.

tl;dr: it’s very good but I have some mental problems

My OCD immediately kicked in when he added a framework to handle the game systems. I’m not opposed to using a framework but I was hoping to go over how to implement it yourself before taking that shortcut. Not a knock on the tutorial, which is very good, but more a statement about how my mind works and how I can never finish these sorts of projects.

I’ve built these types of games myself from scratch before and I know how to create all the parts. Sometimes all it takes to scratch that “time to make a game” itch is do a few tutorials and fool around.

Main reasons I never finish any of these projects are I overcomplicate it from the start and I always want to keep dependencies out of it. These two tend to go hand in hand.

Sometimes the journey is the point and just reading, learning and messing with the code is the important thing anyway. At least I’ll tell myself that, again.

 

Patrick McConnell @pmcconnell
🐘 Reply on Mastodon